top of page

The beauty of decay


As an urban explorer you see the beauty of decay and look for traces of the past and capture images of faded glory.

If you spot an old building, you always think: How will it be from the inside? However, it’s always the question: is it abandoned? Is there something that still indicates the presence of people, even if the weed is half a meter high? Can I come in without destroying anything? Looking for an entrance, all senses will be on high alert to perceive things.

Once inside, you meet the musty smell of mold and rotting wood. Walking on broken glass, you enjoy flaking and crumbling walls and look for potential dangers of rotten floors and stairs. Meanwhile, you wonder what all has happened here ... What’s the history of this building and how does it come that nobody cares?

Looking for beautiful light, scenes, decay and detail, I grab my camera and tripod and get started. Hidden secrets can be imaged!

Urbex is an abbreviation of Urban Exploring, which stands for visiting and photographing abandoned buildings. For taking my pictures I visit abandoned houses, castles, factory buildings, hospitals, and for example trains.

The mix of photography and excitement is what appeals to me as an urbex photographer. I love to capture the beauty of decay. The combination of decay, impermanence in all aspects, details and light is what fascinates me. That’s where I can lose myself.


bottom of page