top of page

The power of silence


A hike is how I start my work process. In fact it is about what the hike offers me. Nowadays, in our hectic life the activity of walking is almost no longer part of everyday life. During my hikes I experience that my senses are slowing down, easing me towards the power of silence. How a landscape is perceived through this slower state of being is of great importance for my work. Using the medium of film allows me to take that personal observation of reality and try to play with it.

Enthusiasm about and admiration for those landscapes is what drives me. Yet there is also a concern about the modern day globalisation and what the future will bring to our landscapes. Nowadays, people have disconnected themselves from their surroundings and as a result they are losing their emotional bond with nature. Due to stressful life, a surrounding becomes more of a passageway than a space to stay and appreciate. To truly appreciate the full essence of nature it helps to slow down. All it takes is being calm, quiet and paying attention.


bottom of page